Posted by: mrsjonesclass | February 2, 2009

Super Bowl Sunday

Super Bowl Sunday is usually a big day for me, but with “my” boys not playing I watch for the commercials :).

Next week there will be no spelling words to practice, but we are moving into double digit multiplication so a review of math facts is a good idea. Also, the kids have a list of 28 prepositions they should be memorizing… I will be sending home a book for the kids to be reading for their assigned home reading on Monday. Please don’t forget about the weekly reading logs due on Tuesdays. On Monday, the kids will choose an author to start their “Author Project.” Mrs. Robles and I will be sharing books and the kids will meet with their partner in her class to discuss the books they are reading in class. A packet will be passed out tomorrow that explains all due dates and expectations for this project.

Thank you for the great response to the up coming field trips, I am in a very lucky position because I have more parents than I can use…especially to the deYoung Museum….I will be notifying you this week to the arrangements….thank you.

Many of you have asked me about how I can help my child with more math practice or reading for comprehension strategies. If math is the area, I would suggest your student bring his/her hard math text home at night. After every lesson there are additional practice questions at the back of the text. There are several tips I can share for reading comprehension, so please feel free to contact me and we can talk strategy.

As of Friday I was missing a couple of district forms…Indent to Return, it is a purple paper. This form is ued to help with upcoming enrollment placements. I’m also missing field trip permissions slips…Feb. 10th to the San Rafael Recycling Center and Feb. 27th to the deYoung Museum. Let me know if you need replacements.

Have a great week, we will be having our Valentine’s Day party on Feb. 12th, after lunch. GATE testing is also Feb. 12th, but that will be happening before snack recess.

Mrs. Jones

Let’s hope Mr. Ground Hog sees his shadow tomorrow….


Leave a comment

Categories